X
SEE THE ITINERARY
SEE THE ITINERARY

Maricourt

There are three possible explanations for Maricourt’s name, adopted in 1961. The one preferred by residents hearkens back to the Sieur de Maricourt, brother of Pierre Le Moyne d’Iberville (1661-1706) who received command over Hudson's Bay from the Governor General of New France, Louis de Frontenac, in 1690. Given the Irish origin of the town's builders, it could also refer to a village in Cambridgeshire, England. It could also conceivably refer to Charles Loftus, first Marquis of Ely and Canada's Postmaster General from 1789 to 1806. This is because the municipality once carried the name of Ste-Mary-d'Ely, a village in the Township of Ely-Partie-Nord, in the territory of Valcourt close to the Ulverton River. The Sainte-Marie d'Ely Church (1889) at the centre of the village evokes this 19th-century heritage.

Population
498

Family outing

A Fun Escape for the Whole Family

Discover this trip idea

58 km

6 stops

2 days

Explore our trip ideas

See all

#easterntownships

Follow us
X

Filters

X
Taste the Townships
Arts, culture and entertainment
Shopping
Lodging
Nature, sports and outdoor activities
Restaurants
Tourist routes
Family outing
Spa and wellness